Gallery - Edison Awards 2012

Edison Awards 2012


The 5th edition of Edison Awards had a festive impact across the ambience of Chennai with film industry’s most happening celebrities walking on red carpet to receive the honours. The ceremony was emblazoned with the humorous treat by Chitti Babu and Pinto, son of famous actor Pandu… They played perfect host indeed.

The show commenced with a surpassing dance performance that fancified the entire auditorium of Lady Andal School with Torch Lights.

Name them and they’re were there. The celebrities ranging from Ilayathalapathy Vijay, Harris Jayaraj, and Jeyam Ravi to everyone in the industry, it was a moment of celebration that had impact much more than the release of the movies.

The List of Winners –

Best Actor – Vijay (Velayudham)
Best Actress – Richa Gangopadhyay (Mayakkam Enna)
Best Director – Venkat Prabhu (Mankatha)
Best Supporting Actor Male – Saravanan (Thambi Vettothi Sundaram), Vaibhav (Mankatha)
Best Supporting Actor Female – Vasundhra Kashyap (Poraali)
Best Character Male Role – Sreeman (Kanchana), Jayaprakash (Yuddham Sei)
Best Character Female Role – Kovai Sarala (Kanchana)
Best Screenplay – Shanthakumar (Mouna Guru)
Best Background Score – Kay (Yuddham Sei)
Best Music Director – Harris Jayaraj (Engeyum Kadhal)
Best Lyricist – Na. Muthukumar (Deiva Thirumagal)
Best Cinematography – Ramji (Mayakkam Enna)
Best Editing – Kola Bhaskar (Mayakkam Enna)
Best Debut Actor - Mahat (Mankatha)
Best Debut Actor Female – Iniya (Vaagai Sooda Vaa)
Best Comedian – Premji Amaran (Mankatha)
Best Debut Music Director – C Sathya (Engeyum Eppodhum)
Best Debut Director – Saravanan (Engeyum Eppodhum)
Extraordinary Performance – Raghava Lawrence
Honourable Superstar Rajnikanth Award – Vijay
Best Dubbing Artist – Savitha Reddy
Best VFX Studio – Prism & Pixels (Mr. Purushothaman) Rowthiram
Best Romantic Hero – Jeyam Ravi (Engeyum Kadhal)
Dream Girl – Lakshmi Rai
Best Villain – RK (Avan Ivan)
Best Sensational Song – Dhanush (Why This Kolaveri Di?)
Best Male Singer – Aalaap Raju (Ennamo Yedho)
Best Female Singer – Chinmayee (Sotta Sotta)
Best Riveting Performance – Lakshmi Ramakrishnan (Yuddham Sei)
Best Enigmatic Director – Mysskin (Yuddham Sei)
Best Juvenile Artist – Sarah (Deiva Thirumagal)
Best Art Director – Muthuraj (Ponnar Shankar)
Best Makeup Man – Dass (Avan Ivan)
Best Choreographer – Kalyan (Mayakkam Enna)
Best Overseas Tamil Film Producer Award – Thulasi Maaran Malaysia (Gurusamy)
Senior Most Movie Journalist – S.R. Ashok Kumar

Actor Vijay spent more time over the dais winning the honours and felicitating Raghava Lawrence for Extraordinary Performance and Ravi for Best Romantic Hero. He didn’t miss to sing praises of these personalities, especially on Raghava Lawrence saying that his son Sanjay often imitates his performance in Kanchana.

Richa Gangopadhyay won the first appreciation through Edison Awards for her mind-boggling performance in Mayakkam Enna. ‘I am really thankful to Selvaraghavan for giving me an opportunity to perform this role’.

Latest News